EOL for Relay ME

It was a few years ago that I started working on an Android app called Relay ME, just to learn how to write an Android app. Its aim was to forward texts as emails, and allow the user to reply to them using email.

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 12.38.54 AM

Despite lack of proper resources it didn’t take me a lot of time to make it work. It was the time of apps with black background, if you still remember it, and expectations weren’t high. If your app just worked you were in a very good shape ;-) However, a lot of things changed while I was keeping this app alive. I did things that are now taken for granted, dealt with things that are history (ActionBarSherlock, ADT Plugin, and Google OAuth 1 for example), implemented best practices to become obsolete next year, and scrambled to fix issues caused by new releases of the platform. Creating and maintaining a mobile app requires a decent amount of effort these days, especially if there is big pile of historical baggage to carry around and technical debt to pay. The time has come for me to close this project to be able to focus on the current work at hand. The biggest take away for me was to never underestimate the time you need to spend on customer support and investigating issues.

Pictures

I have already open-sources the codes for the Android app in https://github.com/codolutions/relay-me-android-studio-project. I hope it can be useful for someone who wants to do something similar to this. If you are a developer interested in maintaining Relay ME and supporting its user base on Google Play, get in touch with me at info@codolutions.com. All I need from you is interest and commitment.

